AfMA was established in 2004 and currently involves the following countries:

Angola, Botswana, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Swaziland, Seychelles, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Ultimately it is envisaged that all the countries and customs territories of Africa will be members of AfMA.


The physicians of Africa have for a long time expressed the need to have a representative body to act as its collective voice and to advocate for better health care for the people of the continent. It was recognised that there was a compelling need to establish an Africa structure of national medical associations that could organise health issues in the Africa region and participate actively in world health issues.

Early in 2005, a group of dedicated medical leaders took the lead in realising this dream. The establishment of AfMA can be summarised as follows:

  • In January 2005, medical leaders of nine African countries met in South Africa to discuss the establishment of a regional office of the World Medical Association (WMA).
  • They agreed that health leadership in Africa should join forces to address common health problems of the continent and to play a strong advocacy role for the region at an international level.
  • All participating countries signed a Memorandum of Understanding, which provided a broad framework of the organisation's activities.
  • A legal entity (an Article 21 not-for-profit organisation registered in South Africa) has been registered to accommodate the establishment of AfMA.
  • In July 2006, leaders from 11 African nations attended the first inaugural general meeting in South Africa to further develop and implement the activities of what is now known as the "Africa Medical Association (AfMA)".
  • The official office-bearers were elected to serve until 2010.
  • The Inaugural General Assembly was held October 2006 in Pilanesberg, South Africa. Countries represented included Namibia, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Mozambique and South Africa.

Main objectives of AfMA

AfMA works for the highest possible standards of ethical behaviour and care by physicians, at all times. While advancing the art and practice of medicine, it also acts as the representative voice for physicians and, where appropriate, patients. It influences policy, launches and participates in projects with the explicit goal of improving health care in Africa.

Current Focus Areas

  • Health Security
  • Prevention of HIV / AIDS
  • Strengthening of Health Care Systems
  • The epidemic of chronic disease
  • Human Resources for Health
  • Patient Information & Communication
  • Science & Technology Capacity - Africa
  • Maternal Health
  • Infant Nutrition
  • Access to services, products, devices
  • Leadership Development
  • Capacity-building for NMAs

The AfMA Council elected to serve up to 2010

  • Dr Kgosi Letlape (President)
  • Dr Kofi Asare (Vice-President)
  • Dr Delon Human (Secretary-General)
  • Dr Mary Zulu (Treasurer)
  • Dr Yewondwossen Tadesse (Council Member)

AfMA President,
Dr Kgosi Letlape

Vice-President of AfMA,
Dr Kofi Asare from Ghana

Secretary General,
Dr Delon Human

Treasurer of AfMA,
Dr Mary Zulu from Zambia

Dr Y Tadesse, additional member
representing East Africa

The AfMA Head Office is in Johannesburg, South Africa and a branch office in Geneva, Switzerland. AfMA will act as the Regional Office of the World Medical Association (WMA) for Africa.